After Watching a Monkey Video on YouTube, I thought about NFTs

I love YouTube.

Not because I can watch these pet videos but because it’s the best platform to educate myself & entertain myself….for FREE.

Yes, of course, there are ads, but what do I pay actually? Maybe my precious time to watch those 5-second ads.

While I was watching the monkey video, I thought about NFTs. (Don’t ask me why!)

Here I see a pattern that ByoungJun the 5th Grade saw in 2005.

YouTube & NFT, the weird correlation

When YouTube first started it out in early-2000, it was (mostly) pet videos & music.

Now look at YouTube, there are world-class lectures and individuals sharing their wisdom.

YouTube was more of entertainment then, it’s now more of education.

I see the same in NFTs.

I’ve used YouTube since 2005–everyone was using Cyworld in Korea.

To me, YouTube was where listening to pop songs, just how teenagers listening to K-pop on YouTube these days.

After 15 years, YouTube is so different from what people used to think what YouTube was and could be.

So my thinking process is:

  1. Don’t underestimate NFTs
  2. NFTs can be used in many different things, including verifying our identities
  3. Right now, NFT is more about art & animals (a weird correlation along with YouTube). But it will be different in 10-15 years

In (almost) every technology development before it’s seeing the real change, there’s a “hype” phase.

Look at the railroad industry, airplanes, electricity, and the most recent one was the “Dot-com” bubble.

It’s those technologies that passed through the hype phase prevails.

Therefore, our goal as an investor is to look out those technologies that are going through the hype phase.

When they are plummeting, my aim is to look very carefully at those technologies I see the future and let the future take its own course.

Leave a comment